Uncategorized

2015 Reflections & 2016 Resolutions

I’ve been wanting to write this post since the last week of 2015, but have only gotten around to it now. Well, better ‘late’ than never, right?

image

My Year in Books: 2015

To tell you the truth, for my 2015 Goodreads challenge, I cheated a bit. Not all of the 154 books are novel-length (200 to more pages) but some are novellas (novels of less than 100 pages) Of course I don’t feel like reading novellas are not good. They are good for those in-between reading longer length novels because sometimes you felt burnt out and it’s a good pick-me-up out of your reading slump. But looking back, I think it would have been better if I had picked out better titles to read. I don’t mind about reading from new authors but some of the titles I chose to read was really forgettable and on hindsight, I should definitely have chosen the titles with more care.

And having said that, I would really like to read longer books in 2016. Longer books might mean lesser books that I can read in my free time but that would also mean more pages read. =)

One of the things I wanted to do in 2015 was tackle my physical TBR. Those are basically books that I had bought from a couple of years ago but never seem to get around to reading, but I failed miserably, only having read less than 5 of my own physical books this year, so this year that shall be tackled. I have 55 books in that list so by the end of 2016, I would like to at least tackle 3/4 of it.

image
image

books that I need to tackle in 2016!

And speaking of physical books, I’ve turned to e-book reading for the past couple of years because of convenience. I ran out of space in my bookshelves and eventhough it’s nice holding a real book while you’re reading, it’s just so bulky and when you’re like me and you need books to read on the go, that’s just not feasible. So yeah, I’m one of those girls who loves to read e-books. But that doesn’t mean I don’t love physical books. I still do read them but lesser in quantity than the e-books. So this year, I would like to read more physical books (hence the need to clear out the physical TBR – see above). I rent instead of buying books nowadays and I used to take about 1 to 2 months to finish 3 books that I rent, so I hope in 2016, I would get to read those books a little bit faster so that I can get my money worth.

In 2016, I would also like to discover more authors. Or at least authors that I already know but have never had the chance to read their work. For example, in 2015, I’ve discovered love for Rebecca Raisin, Jenny Oliver, Cathy Bramley, Jenny Hale, Holly Martin, Harriet Evans, Mandy Baggot, Giovanna Fletcher and Stephanie Perkins, just to name a few. To tell you the truth, I’ve already got my hands on some of their novels just sitting around but never got around to reading them due to time constraint (so many books, so little time, right?) but I’m glad that I got the chance to read their books finally this year and when I did, I was like, “I wished I had read this much earlier” So yeah, this year, I’ll definitely read more of their work along with others that I’ve been wanting to read but never got a chance to, like Samantha Tonge, Susan Wiggs, Robyn Carr, JoAnn Ross, RaeAnn Thayne, etc just to name a few.

Lastly, in 2016, I would also like to read new releases as quickly as I possibly can get my hands on them. I’ve had books from 2012 (some from earlier than that! *gasps*) that I have not read yet so this year I would like to do it differently, giving more importance to new releases so that it’s easier for me to catch up. Well, we’ll see how well that would be, as I already have a mile long list of books that’s gonna be published in 2016 that I want to read lol

Anyway, before I end, here are some of the books that I have enjoyed so so much in the past year. These are of course books that I rated 5 stars on Goodreads. There are some others that are just as enjoyable. =)

image
image

books that I rated 5 stars this year

Well, that’s it! Have a good book-ish 2016 everyone! ^^

One thought on “2015 Reflections & 2016 Resolutions

Leave a Reply

