Reviews

Review: Kitty’s Countryside Dream by Christie Barlow

28119698.jpgNew home. New life. New beginning. It’s time for Kitty Lewis to start living again . . .

When Kitty inherits Bluebell Lodge from her grandmother, a farm in the beautiful Staffordshire countryside, it’s time for fresh air and a fresh start. Up to her elbows in chickens and ponies, Kitty soon realises there’s an awful lot to learn about farming. Still, at least the locals seem friendly, not least her handsome neighbour Tom…

But just as Kitty is beginning to find her feet, the discovery of a long-hidden diary,at the farm, by a mysterious character called Violet changes everything. Who is Violet and what is her message for Kitty? As Kitty fills in the lost pieces of her family jigsaw and discovers some shocking revelations, will her countryside dream fall to pieces? When it comes to life in the country, nothing is ever quite as it seems …

My Review:

Honestly, when I first saw the book, I was drawn by the cover. I’m a sucker for book covers like this cos I know it’s going to draw me into the story and Kitty’s Countryside Dream really delivers.

At first, I wasn’t very sure that I would like Kitty’s character. I tried hard to relate to her but I just couldn’t. There were some actions of her during the earlier part of the story that I just cannot get. However, as I turned from one page to another, when Kitty started to discover more things about her past (via a diary left by her grandmother), it just clicked and it started to get so good that I just cannot stop reading! There were at some points of the story where Kitty had to go to sleep or work instead of reading the diary, and I was literally screaming at my e-reader “CAN YOU NOT GO TO WORK OR SLEEP? I’M NOT SLEEPING BECAUSE OF THIS!” Lol yeah I did that!

Besides from the story, I love how Christie wrote the description of the places in the book. It makes me feel like I was there, like I was part of Bluebell Lodge, working alongside Tom, Jeannie and Kitty. What struck the most was when she described the eggs as having multitude of colours. I did not know that and I really wanted to see that in real life.

I slept at 3am just to finish this book and I did not regret it. Sure there was some slow bits at the start where I feel like giving it up but I’m glad I did not. I would highly recommend this for those who loves feel-good romance with a little bit of family drama thrown into the mix 🙂

My rating: 4/5

Disclaimer: I received the ARC from Netgalley and Bookouture in exchange of an honest review. 

One thought on “Review: Kitty’s Countryside Dream by Christie Barlow

Leave a Reply

