Reviews · Uncategorized

Review: The Readers of Broken Wheel Recommend by Katarina Bivald

Katarina bivald - the readers of broken wheel recommendBook description: Once you let a book into your life, the most unexpected things can happen… Broken Wheel, Iowa, has never seen anyone like Sara, who traveled all the way from Sweden just to meet her pen pal, Amy. When she arrives, however, she finds that Amy’s funeral has just ended. Luckily, the townspeople are happy to look after their bewildered tourist—even if they don’t understand her peculiar need for books. Marooned in a farm town that’s almost beyond repair, Sara starts a bookstore in honor of her friend’s memory. All she wants is to share the books she loves with the citizens of Broken Wheel and to convince them that reading is one of the great joys of life. But she makes some unconventional choices that could force a lot of secrets into the open and change things for everyone in town. Reminiscent of The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society, this is a warm, witty book about friendship, stories, and love.

My Review:

The bookworm in me loved this story. It might seem plain and simple, just like our heroine Sara, but there’s just something about this book that is heartwarming and makes you connect to the characters as if they are your neighbours. It was an easy read, nothing overly extravagant and all the mentions of the bookstore makes my heart sing and I just love how Sara makes the bookstore accessible to everyone and her belief that there is a book for everyone. Her determination wins a lot of brownie points with me.

The plot is simple and direct to the point, and though it could have been shorter or resolved earlier in the story, I have no major problem with that. I love how the whole town seems to come together during the development of the plot and there were some funny, cute and awww moments thrown in.

The characters were real and I really felt like I could connect with them, especially Sara. I love how she was described as plain and simple, because not everyone is supposed to look like movie stars or something, but she is just not plain and simple. There’s just something about her that makes me love and root for her. Tom makes me swoon, I don’t know why, because he’s not very swoony but I guess it’s my preference of guy. I don’t need very overly dramatic people to make me swoon lol. There were some moments that just the things he said or do makes me go awwww and Tom makes their story believable. Another character that I also have to talk about is of course Amy. Eventhough she was not there in the book physically, but the presence of her letters between the chapters that gave us insight into her story (and Broken Wheel from her perspective) was brilliant. How I wished Sara’s letters were included too. Their correspondence would have been awesome to read.

My rating: 4/5

Disclaimer: I received the ARC from the publisher through Netgalley in exchange of honest reviews. All opinions are mine.

One thought on “Review: The Readers of Broken Wheel Recommend by Katarina Bivald

Leave a Reply

