Monthly Wrap Up · Reviews

January 2016 Wrap Up

Okay, okay.. I know it’s already February, but I was tied up at work, and the week had just ended and I have a week-long holiday just to catch up on things, so yay! I have a plan to clear out at least half of my Netgalley list, so we’ll see if that will happen or not hihi.

So anyway, back in January, I read a total of 16 books! That’s a lot, even for me. Here they are in a list from oldest to newest. I also included some of the things that I love about some of the books, some I didn’t ;p

  1. Christmas Wedding at the Gingerbread Cafe by Rebecca Raisin – Having read the first two books in the series (The Gingerbread Cafe), I couldn’t wait to go back to Ashford and meet the old favs like Lil, Damon and CeeCee. And this did not disappoint cos I totally loved it. Such a perfect read to start the new year. (5 stars)
  2. The Mince Pie Mix-Up by Jennifer Joyce – A tale of switcheroo between husband and wife pair during the holiday season, which is naturally the busiest time of the year, as they felt that the other person has it much easier. I loved this book and it makes me think of what other people has got going on. Even if it seems easier, it doesn’t mean that the grass is greener at the other side, right? (5 stars)
  3. Kitty’s Countryside Dream by Christie Barlow – This book started off a little bit slow for me but when it picked up, it got really interesting. Read my full review here (4 stars)
  4. When I Fall in Love by Miranda Dickinson – Since I have a target to finish at least 3/4 out of my physical TBR pile (current count is 60!), this is the first one that I picked up. I think I got it a few years back and I never got around to read it. I loved this one, especially the story about the Sundaes, which I think is the heart of the story. And the ending makes me swooooon =) (5 stars)
  5. The Cinderella Effect by Miriam Morrison – Another old book taken from the physical TBR pile. Cute story that is kinda like a retelling of Cinderella and also a little mix of The Midsummer Night’s Dream. Loved this mostly because of the interaction between the main characters Lila and Johnny because they can be really sarcastic and sarcasm wins in my book! XD (5 stars)
  6. All the Single Ladies by Jane Costello – another one of those physical TBR (5 stars)
  7. Midnight at Tiffany’s by Sarah Morgan – After several heavy books, I felt the need to just wind down with shorter length book and I just had to read this novella. It’s very fairytale-like but that’s what I like about books like this =P It definitely makes me can’t wait to read the first novel from the series called Sleepless in Manhattan. (5 stars)
  8. The Runaway Bridesmaid by Daisy James – Really lovely debut novel from Daisy James about Rosie who ran from her sister’s wedding (where she was the bridesmaid) when she found her sister getting very intimate with her boyfriend. What was supposed to be just a short stay in the UK gets longer and it’s very interesting how Rosie deals with everything. I wished there was more of Charlie though. (5 stars)
  9. The Readers of Broken Wheel Recommend by Katarina Bivald – Loved this book!! I could totally fall in love with Tom and Sara, as a bookworm, is totally relatable. Read my full review here. (4 stars)
  10. Aku, Dia dan Pinky Promise by Anna Lee – One of the Malay novels recommended to me and I kinda like it cos it’s so different from other Malay novels that I’ve read. I kinda felt icky a little bit with the high school scenes (mostly because of the way it was written) but other than that, this was definitely readable =) (4 stars)
  11. Staying at Daisy’s by Jill Mansell – My first ever Jill Mansell book and OMG I did not know what I have missed. I’ve always had Jill Mansell books in my collection but never did manage to read any of it, until this one. There are lots of things that I love about this book and I think I love the setting the most; the country manor house turned into a hotel and the slew of characters that made up the story. Everyone is very very likable and makes me very invested in their stories. Will definitely totally read more Jill Mansell soon! (5 stars)
  12. The Guy Not Taken by Jennifer Weiner – When I requested to rent this book from my local rental place, I did not realize that is a collection of short stories. I normally did not like a collection of short stories (novellas are different) and I did not like this as well. It’s readable but I did not enjoy it as I would enjoy other Jennifer Weiner’s books. (2 stars)
  13. Phoebe’s Groom by Deb Kastner – One of those Harlequin Life-Inspired books I picked up because it’s short and simple heh. Gotta love Harlequin for those :p (5 stars)
  14. The Years of Loving You by Ella Harper – one of the books released in 2015 that I wanted to read because of the cover. It’s just so pretty! It’s not a very light read. The story spanned several long years, of relationship between Molly and Ed who knew each other back in school. Despite having feelings for each other, they never really got together due to missed timing, until Molly was diagnosed with early on-set Parkinson’s which changed her life. I loved this though the writing was kinda hard to understand especially when it’s written in Molly and Ed’s POV cos it kept changing and you never know who is saying/thinking/doing what. Well, at least it seems like that to me. But the rest of the book is just beautiful =) (4 stars)
  15. A Touch of Christmas Magic by Scarlet Wilson – Another Harlequin book that I picked up when I have a spare few hours to read at work but there was nothing else to read but this. Classic Harlequin story, which I loved :p (4 stars)
  16. You Had Me at Hello by Mhairi McFarlane – Coincidentally, it has the same concept as The Years of Loving You, which I had read previously but this one was definitely lighter and easier to read, with some humorous parts, which I loved. But I kinda had issues with how things were resolved in the end, but it was still a good read. (4 stars)

A Summary of Books I Read in January

Number of Books: 16

Number of Pages: 4663 pages

Number of E-books Read: 10

Number of Physical Books Read: 6

In February, I hope I’ll be able to read as much as I did last month but I’m not gonna be putting a high expectation on myself since now that classes have started, my reading pace is slowing down a little bit, but at least I’m reading, right?

Leave a Reply

