Reviews

Review: Smart Girl by Rachel Hollis

26209464.jpgBook description: Brilliant designer Miko Jin is a hopeless romantic. She’s spent most of her life falling in love over and over again…with the men she finds in the pages of her favorite novels.

When Miko meets Liam Ashton, it’s love at first sight. At least, for her. Sure, the two of them are polar opposites, and yes, he seems to be dating someone new each week. But Miko knows what true love is and that you can’t rush it—after all, what she lacks in real-world experience, she makes up for in book smarts. With novels as her guide, and her best friends by her side, she knows she can get Liam to love her back. But just like any good romance novel, fate has a few plot twists in store. Will Miko get her own happy ending? Will she find the strength to stand up for what she deserves even if it means breaking her own heart?

My review:

Smart Girl is the third book in the series and to be honest, I have not read the other two books. I did, however, read the novella from the series called Party Girl’s First Date and I liked it enough to want to read this. I think one of the things that attracted me the most to this book was the fact that the main character is described as a bookworm who wants to live out her life like the characters she had read in her books. As a bookworm myself I could totally relate to that!

What I like most about this book is that the main characters Miko and Liam are seemingly perfect but both have their own flaws. Miko has her own faults but there’s just something about her that makes me wanna root for her until the end. Liam makes me wanna curse a lot, but he did redeem himself towards the end of the book in a scene that made the hopeless romantic in me swoon like mad.

I also really like the way Rachel Hollis wrote about the side characters who are very likable and the relationship they all have makes me desperately want to be part of their circle. Stories of Sunday Supper makes me want to be there too. And I have to say I kinda fell in love with Tosh, Miko’s brother and wished that there was more about him in this story. (Can I wish for a Tosh story please?) And I also like the way that eventhough this story is essentially about Miko and Liam, we get enough backstory about the other two couples (Max & Brody, Landon & Taylor) to understand about their relationship dynamics.

If there’s one thing that I don’t like about this book (and I swear it’s just a tiny little thing that it probably only bothers me and not the others) is the fact that the girls’ names were not gender-specific. There were times when I read passages about Landon and Taylor and I have to think for a while which one of this is a girl. And when it’s Max and Landon, I have to keep reminding myself that these are girls and not guys.

However, that little tiny thing did not ruin the fun feel of reading this and I really truly enjoyed it as the writing was snappy and the story did not get dragged out. And the references to other books like Hunger Games, Cinder, Twilight and also classics such as Pride and Prejudice, Emma, Persuasion, Peter Pan, etc definitely adds a little something extra to this story. I will definitely pick up and read the first two books in the series.

My rating: 4/5 stars

Disclaimer: I received the ARC from the publisher through Netgalley in exchange of honest reviews. All opinions are mine.

One thought on “Review: Smart Girl by Rachel Hollis

Leave a Reply

