Monthly Wrap Up · Reviews

February 2016 Wrap Up

Hey guys!

It’s March, so Happy March everyone. February was such a good reading month for me. I ended it by reading 17 books, which was more or less the same amount in January, so I wish for March I can keep up with the momentum, or at least read more physical books than I did.

So anyway, here are the books that I read last month.

  • Going Home by Harriet Evans – Have always been a fan of Harriet Evans and I loved the plot of this book and also the family (the Walters) that were featured in this as they were a bit eccentric, a bit mad but kinda fun to get to know. Though the main character Lizzy is a bit annoying at times, this is still a good read. (5/5)
  • Smart Girl by Rachel Hollis – the third in the The Girls series by Rachel Hollis, but this is the first in the series that I read. I loved this book and the references to the literary books, loved Miko cos she’s a bookworm, loved Liam and loved the whole gang. Read my whole review here. (5/5)
  • Welcome to Rosie Hopkins’ Sweet Shop of Dream by Jenny Colgan – if anything, last month was totally a Jenny Colgan month for me cos I read four books of hers, starting with this one. First in the Rosie Hopkins’ series, I totally fell in love with the world and it makes me feel like having my own sweet shop. There’s like a whole page describing all the sweet and that makes me salivate! (5/5)
  • Christmas at Rosie Hopkins’ Sweetshop by Jenny Colgan – Jenny Colgan, Sweet shop and christmas… what could go wrong. Loved this as much as I loved the first book. (5/5)
  • The Christmas Surprise by Jenny Colgan – Still in the Rosie Hopkins Sweetshop world but this one has less sweetshop in it. Still a good read, but my least fave in the series. (4/5)
  • Time to Say Goodbye by S.D Robertson – One thing that I loved about this book was that I got to read this kind of story from a father’s POV cos usually when it’s a story about a parent dying and wanting to say goodbye to their child, it’s usually in the mother’s POV, so that really makes me want to read this book more. And I liked the new take, though in my humble opinion, there could have been more addition to make it a true tearjerker. I did get sad, but I did not really really cry. Read my full review here. (4/5)
  • Christmas Gifts at the Beach Cafe by Lucy Diamond – Ok, here’s a fun fact. I’ve read the first novella from The Beach series, which was Christmas at the Beach Cafe and I loved it. Read this one and I loved it too. But I haven’t even read the novel The Beach Cafe! I do not have that in my collection (yet) and I really really want to read the next novella A Baby at the Beach Cafe. But you know what? Even without reading the novel, I fell in love with the Beach Cafe, with Evie and Ed and the whole gang they have there, like they’re totally right up my alley, so here’s hoping for more time to read those two other books in the series. (5/5)
  • Good at Games by Jill Mansell – The thing about Jill Mansell that I realized was that she created this over the top stories but somehow it works? Well, at least in my opinion. Reading this at first, I was sure that I would not like it cos it was totally bordering on crazehhh but the more I read it, the more I was hooked. I started loving Suzy, whom I hated in the earlier part of the story and totally fell in love with Leo. (5/5)
  • Kiss by Jill Mansell – Not my most fave out of the Jill Mansell I’ve read but kinda enjoyable. Kinda liked Katerina (Izzy’s daughter) but did not like her relationship choices at all. Did not like Izzy cos I found her immature for a 40 year old but I kinda liked her with Sam. (4/5)
  • All Aboard by Cressida McLaughlin (Canal Boat Cafe #1) – the first part of four part series. For series like this, I normally wait until the whole book come out to totally indulge but I just cannot wait for this, so I started reading it and I’m loving it so far. Love the setting and that little bit of mysteries going on. I’m really interested to know how will things go with Mason and what will happen to the Canal Boat Cafe. Can’t wait to go back and visit Willowbeck! (5/5)
  • The Little Shop of Happy Ever After by Jenny Colgan – Possibly my most favourite book last month! I devoured everything about it, love the setting, love the characters, love the plot but the ending…. ugh, not a fan of the ending but I’m okay with that cos it is more realistic. (Though I still loveeeee Marek, he makes me go awwwwwwww a lot which kinda pissed my friend hahah) But I totally gave 5 stars just for the setting and the way Jenny Colgan wrote it, she makes me wanna go to Scotland and live there like Nina did, selling books from her little van. And Nina, she’s just so relatable, she’s like a ball of spunk and I love that she has that innate ability to match people with books, like I totally want that ability! (5/5)
  • A Girl’s Guide to Moving On by Debbie Macomber – HUGE Debbie Macomber fan here, so when I got to know she has a new book out, I was totally psyched to read it. It’s not exactly my favourite of hers but it’s kind of enjoyable and totally readable. I kinda fell in love with Rocco, and I like how he’s protective of his daughter, but he’s like all tough, so he makes me like he’s a tough old teddy bear kinda guy, if you know what I mean. If this book does not have the Nikolai character, I think I would have loved it even more. Read my full review here. (4/5)
  • A Summer at Sea by Katie Fforde – I think this is the first Katie Fforde book that I read. A good, enjoyable read though some parts of the story seems to be a bit all over the place, in my opinion. I did enjoy reading the bits about being on the puffer though. Makes me wanna go on a holiday on one =) (3/5)
  • Willowleaf Lane by RaeAnne Thayne – good, enjoyable read that makes me want to read more from the author. I love Charlaine and Spencer, both of whom has a past of their own to deal with but that makes them perfect for each other. I did not like Spencer at first and I feel like the way he “fell” for Charlaine was too insta-love, especially he discovered that she was his younger friend from back in high school and did not realize it till he’s back in the town of Hope’s Crossing, now that she is thinner and more good looking. Um no. But I dunno, I kinda fell for him as well? haha.. This book would have gotten 5 stars from me if it wasn’t for the whole insta-love thing. (4/5)
  • RSVP by Helen Warner – a story that centers around four people and a wedding; Rachel as the bride-to-be, Anna as the ex, Ella as the femme fatale (or the boyfriend-stealer-friend) and Clare as the bestfriend. I kinda liked the story but it took some time for me to really like or relate to the characters and even then I just couldn’t even. But this is still enjoyable read, especially if you like something simple and light. (4/5)
  • Kindred Spirits by Rainbow Rowell – such a cute short story!!!!!!!! I WANT MORE OF THIS, LIKE SERIOUSLY GUYS! I couldn’t understand all the Star Wars reference but gosh, I didn’t care, I loved it! (5/5)
  • A Seaside Affair by Fern Britton – loved the story about the characters saving a seaside theater by putting up a musical show and all, and I kinda fell in love with the whole gang. It was kind of hard to keep track of who is who but this is still a good read.
Leave a Reply

