Book Tags

The TBR Book Tag

rTurquoise_shop_preview

Hi guys!

I’m not working today as I finished all my work yesterday, so I thought why not take the day off so I can have a long weekend. Yay for being productive. Anyway, my post today is all about the dreaded word ‘TBR’ as I was tagged by Reg @ She Latitude. I don’t know about you guys but my TBR-list is ridiculously a mile long, so yeah.. I’m kinda scared to get through that now, but whatever, let’s go! ^^

How do you keep track of your TBR pile?

I use Goodreads. To be honest, my TBR is ridiculous cos it’s a mixture of books that I already owned but have not yet read, books that I want to buy but haven’t and books that I want but have not been published yet. I currently have about 4000+ books listed in my GR, how ridiculous was that?? When would I ever find the time to read? I recently weeded out my TBR and list some of those books into a list I called ‘Urgent TBR’ and even then it was still about hundreds of books that I need to read. And please don’t get me started on those books that I need to read for reviews! Hnnggg

Is your TBR mostly print or ebook?

Mostly ebooks. I only have about 80 print books TBR compared to a lot more of ebooks TBR. That’s what I ‘hate’ the most about ebooks, really, cos it’s just so easy to buy them and so much cheaper that they just pile up and up.

A Book That’s Been on Your TBR List The Longest

I’ve only been using Goodreads since 2013 so I’m sure there were other books that would have been in my TBR list had I started using it earlier. I have these books that I added together back when I first started using it in April 2013: The Nanny Diaries by Emma McLaughlin & Nicola Kraus and also Something Borrowed by Emily Giffin, both of which coincidentally were books made into movies that I’ve watched and loved. Will I read them? I’m not even sure but I am currently on the lookout for Emily Giffin novels in paperbacks.

A Book You Recently Added to Your TBR

Tumbledown Manor by Helen Brown. I was taken by the cover first then when I read the blurb, I thought that’s it’s the kind of story I would like. Can’t wait to find time to read it.

tumbledown

From New York Times bestselling author Helen Brown comes a witty, uplifting novel about a woman who discovers that it’s never too late to build the home–and the life–you’ve always longed for…

The windows rattle. The roof leaks. Every surface cries out to be stripped, painted, or polished. But for writer Lisa Trumperton, the dilapidated manor house that once belonged to her great-grandfather is far more than the sum of its battered parts. It’s the chance for a new start on her own terms. The fact that it’s in the Melbourne countryside of her Australian homeland, far from the deceitful ex-husband she just left behind in New York…well, that’s a bonus.

Lisa sets to work refurbishing Trumperton Manor, assisted by her son, his friends, and a “Gray Army” of retired handymen. But it’s not just her ancestral home that’s being transformed. As she trades her chic Manhattan clothes for jeans and work boots, Lisa is changing and fortifying her relationships with her family and her sense of self. There are floods, fires, and catastrophes, but there are new allies too, including a one-eyed cat, a stubborn cockatoo, and a rugged landscaper with an irresistible grin. Piece by piece, the house is pushing Lisa beyond her old limits, daring her to embrace something bigger, braver, and more rewarding than she ever dreamed.

A Book in Your TBR Strictly Because of Its Beautiful Cover

The Forbidden Wish by Jessica Khoury. Not exactly something that I would read at the moment but I saw the cover and was like “damn, that’s a beauty!” I really really love the deep purple colour, the typeface and the smoke, like everything is just magical and just works together. I’m not usually the one who likes having faces on the cover, but it just works so well here.

ForbiddenWish_BOM.indd

She is the most powerful Jinni of all. He is a boy from the streets. Their love will shake the world. 

When Aladdin discovers Zahra’s jinni lamp, Zahra is thrust back into a world she hasn’t seen in hundreds of years—a world where magic is forbidden and Zahra’s very existence is illegal. She must disguise herself to stay alive, using ancient shape-shifting magic, until her new master has selected his three wishes. 

But when the King of the Jinn offers Zahra a chance to be free of her lamp forever, she seizes the opportunity—only to discover she is falling in love with Aladdin. When saving herself means betraying him, Zahra must decide once and for all: is winning her freedom worth losing her heart?

As time unravels and her enemies close in, Zahra finds herself suspended between danger and desire in this dazzling retelling of Aladdin from acclaimed author Jessica Khoury.

A Book On Your TBR That You Never Plan on Reading

Love Takes Wing (Love Comes Softly #7) by Janette Oke. I’ve had this book for ages!! I watched the movie on Hallmark years ago, fell in love with the series so I knew I had to buy them. I think I read the first few books of the series and just stopped. I don’t think I’ll pick it up again though.

65471

Belinda Davis had trained as a nurse to assist her older brother, Doctor Luke. But as time goes by and she sees those she’s grown up with getting married and settling into their own lives, Belinda becomes restless. What had seemed exciting and fresh becomes dull and routine. When she meets an elderly woman who needs nursing care, Belinda jumps at the invitation to go to Boston–a large, “civilized” city with cultural opportunities she’s never even dreamed of in her little prairie town. But in spite of financial security and countless new experiences, Belinda finds herself restless, lonely, and empty inside.

 

An Unpublished Book on Your TBR That You’re Excited For

That has got to be Harry Potter and the Cursed Child! I know it’s not a novel and it’s just a script of the play, but whatever. I still wanna own it as soon as it’s released! Can’t wait to see the final cover too. Hopefully it’s great! 🙂

29056083

A Book on Your TBR That Basically Everyone’s Read But You

The Wrath and the Dawn by Renee Ahdieh. I just couldn’t find the time 😦

18798983

In a land ruled by a murderous boy-king, each dawn brings heartache to a new family. Khalid, the eighteen-year-old Caliph of Khorasan, is a monster. Each night he takes a new bride only to have a silk cord wrapped around her throat come morning. When sixteen-year-old Shahrzad’s dearest friend falls victim to Khalid, Shahrzad vows vengeance and volunteers to be his next bride. Shahrzad is determined not only to stay alive, but to end the caliph’s reign of terror once and for all.

Night after night, Shahrzad beguiles Khalid, weaving stories that enchant, ensuring her survival, though she knows each dawn could be her last. But something she never expected begins to happen: Khalid is nothing like what she’d imagined him to be. This monster is a boy with a tormented heart. Incredibly, Shahrzad finds herself falling in love. How is this possible? It’s an unforgivable betrayal. Still, Shahrzad has come to understand all is not as it seems in this palace of marble and stone. She resolves to uncover whatever secrets lurk and, despite her love, be ready to take Khalid’s life as retribution for the many lives he’s stolen. Can their love survive this world of stories and secrets?

Inspired by A Thousand and One Nights, The Wrath and the Dawn is a sumptuous and enthralling read from beginning to end.

A Book on Your TBR That Everyone Recommends To You

Our Song by Dani Atkins. Apparently it’s one of the best books of 2016 so far, so you know I have to read this, right? I hope to read it this month, so hopefully I’ll get to that sooner rather than later!

7-oursongThis is the story of Ally and Charlotte, whose paths have intersected over the years though they’ve never really been close friends. Charlotte married Ally’s ex and first true love, David. Fate is about to bring them together one last, dramatic time and change their lives forever.

Full of Dani’s signature warmth and emotion, this is a gripping and emotional family drama. With breath-taking plot twists, Dani explores themes of serendipity, friendship and love. She fully engages the reader in the dilemmas faced by her characters. What would you do if your husband was the love of somebody else’s life? And when faced with an agonising decision, could you put the past behind you and do the right thing?

 

A Book on Your TBR That You’re Dying To Read

Okay, let me cheat a bit on this and talk about series instead cos technically I’m waiting for book #3 of these series to be released so that I can just them all in its entirety. There are two series that I’ve been dying to read. The first one is The Colours of Madeleine series by Jaclyn Moriarty. I have the first two books and once I get the third book (to be released end of this month!), I’ll start reading the whole series, hopefully soon.

I also wanted to read the Firebird series by Claudia Gray. I’m waiting for the release of the third book end of this year so that I can just read the books in one go (hopefully). And omg I’m so in love with the covers of the books!!!

I’m not really sure who to tag but I’ll go with those who made recent comments tagging: Lexxie @ (un)Conventional Bookviews, Yvo @ It’s All About Books, Charlie @ Girl of 1000 Wonders, Hayley @ Rather Too Fond of Books and Claire @ Art & Soul. If you’re tagged but did not want to do it, that’s fine, it’s up to you ^^ And if you’re not tagged but wanted to do it anyway, just do it and link it up to me so I can see what’s on your list. 😉

Toodles everyone and have a happy Friday!! 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

