Book Memes · This Week in Books

My Week in Books #6

I am nearly finished with classes for this semester!! Tomorrow will be my last class and I will have the next week free before my students’ final exam starts on 25th April. Well, not free free but at least I don’t have to attend classes, if you know what I mean. So looking forward to that! 😆

Anyway, here’s my round-up for this week, a feature hosted by Lipsyy from Lipsyy’s Lost and Found. It’s similar to WWW Wednesday (hosted by Sam @ Taking on a World of Words), so I’m linking to both :)

Then: I finished two books last week and omg I don’t know why it took me so long. I wasn’t that busy but I just couldn’t be bothered to pick up the books half of the time. And it’s not because the books are not interesting either, but it’s just me being a lazy ass 😛 So anyway, I read Flora’s Lot by Katie Fforde and also Some Women by Emily Liebert. I love Flora’s Lot! It’s kind of predictable, which is fine by me, because I do like the concept of the characters working in an auction house. I’ve never read something like that so it was fascinating to read about the behind the scene stuff going. I also enjoyed the book by Emily Liebert, as I thought it was very well-written. I’ll post a separate full review for that by tomorrow, hopefully.

Now: I had just literally finished reading Some Women a few hours ago, so I’m not currently reading anything. 😆

Next: My next TBR is still the same as last week as I did not manage to get much reading done last week. I’m planning to read Marcie Steele’s The Second Chance Shoe Shop. I enjoyed the last Marcie’s book that I read (That’s What Friends Are For, reviewed here), so naturally I’m looking forward to read this. I’m also hoping to pick up Billy and Me by Giovanna Fletcher this week, if I have time. And since I think I will have a bit more free time, hopefully I will also try and read Open House by Jill Mansell, as it’s a rented book, so I need to read that quickly before the end of this month.

What have you read or will read this week? Let me know ^^


wednesday-wow

Waiting on Wednesday is a feature hosted by Breaking the Spine, showcasing book(s) that we are currently anticipating for their releases. This week, I’m currently looking forward to the release of The Little Bookshop of Lonely Hearts by Annie Darling. I just love the cover and gosh the title! I think books that are set in bookshops are really nice 🙂

29603811

Where happy ever after is only a page away… A delightful new series set in a quaint old bookshop, for fans of Lucy Diamond and Jenny Colgan

Once upon a time in a crumbling London bookshop, Posy Morland spent her life lost in the pages of her favourite romantic novels.

So when Bookend’s eccentric owner, Lavinia, dies and leaves the shop to Posy, she must put down her books and join the real world. Because Posy hasn’t just inherited an ailing business, but also the unwelcome attentions of Lavinia’s grandson, Sebastian, AKA The Rudest Man In London™.

Posy has a cunning plan and six months to transform Bookends into the bookshop of her dreams – if only Sebastian would leave her alone to get on with it. As Posy and her friends fight to save their beloved bookshop, Posy’s drawn into a battle of wills with Sebastian, about whom she’s started to have some rather feverish fantasies…

Like her favourite romantic heroines, will she get her happy ever after too?

Expected date of publication: April 21st 2016

6 thoughts on “My Week in Books #6

  1. I’m so glad you enjoyed Flora’s Lot. It’s been ages since I read a Katie Fforde and really need to read another. They’re all fairly predictable, but she’s great at creating very likeable characters you want to follow and root for.

    I’m looking forward to hearing what you think of Open House because that’s one of the Jill Mansell books I haven’t read (yet).

    Here’s my WWW: https://clairehuston.wordpress.com/2016/04/13/www-wednesday-13th-april-2016/

    Like

  2. ‘The Second Chance Shoe Shop’ sounds cute. I hope it’s as good as the author’s first book. Happy reading and thanks for participating in WWW Wednesday!

    Like

Leave a Reply

