Reviews

Review: The Second Chance Shoe Shop by Marcie Steele

29532147 (1)Publication date: April 8th 2016

Publisher: Bookouture

Purchase: UK | US

All Riley Flynn wants is to meet someone who makes her happy. But attracting the right kind of man is not easy, and with her heart still hurting from her last break-up, Riley believes she’ll never find love again.

A year ago, Sadie Stewart’s whole world was shattered when her husband, Ross, died. She has struggled to keep herself together for the sake of their young daughter, but with the anniversary of his death approaching, Sadie finds herself overwhelmed by grief.

Sadie and Riley work at Chandlers shoe shop, in the charming town of Hedworth. But when Chandlers is threatened with closure, the friends are confronted with the loss of not only their jobs, but also their support network – the glue that holds them together when they are close to breaking.

As they put together a plan to save their beloved shop, Sadie realises that she might just be learning to live again. Could it be that new beginnings are just round the corner? The campaign also finds Riley unexpectedly crossing paths with charming photographer, Ethan. Maybe her second chance at love is right under her feet …


MY REVIEW:

The Second Chance Shoe Shop centers around Riley, the manager of Chandler’s Shoe Shop, which is on the brink of closure. So to prevent that from happening, Riley, together with her workmates Sadie and Dan, came up with ideas to bring in sales to the shoe shop.

I really enjoyed this book! It was fast-paced and I read it within a day. The writing was brilliant and the characters were so well-developed that it’s just hard not to love them. I personally love Riley the most as she is hardworking and so full of ideas and strategies to help the shop. However, Sadie and Dan deserves some love too as they brought such a dynamic to the trio that it’s a joy reading about them together, not just working at the shop but also their friendship outside of the working hours. I just love how they stand up to each other and just support each other, like how friends are supposed to do.

Sometimes the side characters get overlooked in books in a way that they were not developed very well but that was definitely not the case in this book. I love the other friends that made up the gang like Ash and Cooper. And even though Sadie’s husband had passed away, through her memories of him, I thought that I would love to know Ross as well. Ethan definitely has the book boyfriend alert all over him. I just love him from the get go and fervently wished that he was not the bad guy or anything like that. Sure, he has his own flaws, but the way Marcie wrote him makes me want to trust him.

As far as antagonist goes, I even liked the way Suzanne was portrayed because I just can’t help wishing that I can go up to her and slap her hard. However, I felt that the way she changed felt instantaneous but I had no big issue with that.

One thing that I really like about the book, besides from the friendship, is how Marcie wrote about the impact of social media in our lives. She wrote not just about the good side of it but also the bad and I felt that is very profound because our lives these days are so influenced by social media.

Overall, this book is definitely a must-read if you love chic lit with a good dose of friendship, a little bit of crazy but a lot of heart.

My rating: 5hearts

Disclaimer: I received the ARC from the publisher, Bookouture via Netgalley in exchange of honest reviews. All opinions are mine.

4 thoughts on “Review: The Second Chance Shoe Shop by Marcie Steele

  1. This is a nice review. The book sounds quite interesting. I don’t mind chic lit, they are my go to books whenever I want a quick, easy read. I will look out for this one, thanks 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

