Reviews

Review: Billy and Me by Giovanna Fletcher

25663643

Publication Date: April 5th 2016 (US Release)

Publisher: St Martin’s Press

Purchase: Amazon US

In this utterly sweet and moving women’s fiction novel, a celebrity comes to town and sweeps a young woman – who is used to being overlooked – off her feet.

Sophie May is content with her life in her small English village, working in the local coffee shop and living with her mom. But when famous actor Billy comes to town to play Mr. Darcy in a new film adaptation of Pride and Prejudice, Sophie’s quiet life is quickly turned on its head. Billy is adored by women around the world, but he only wants Sophie on his arm. But being with Billy comes at a price, and Sophie is thrown in the spotlight after years of shying away from attention. Can she handle the constant scrutiny that comes with being with Billy?

Brimming with humor, wit, and genuine warmth, Billy and Me is a book about taking a chance on life and on love.


My Review:

Billy & Me is about shy, reclusive Sophie May, content with her life in a small English village, who suddenly got thrown into the world of showbiz when she fell in love with Billy Buskin, a famous actor.

Despite titled Billy & Me, I felt that the aspect that I love the most in the story is the relationship between Sophie and Molly, the owner of the teashop Sophie works in. I just love everything about their relationship, their conversation, how they help each other and the times they spent at the teashop. I think that is something totally precious that my eyes were not dry when something happens to Molly towards the end of the book.

I love Sophie May and I felt that I could relate to her a lot with all her struggles because I am a little bit like her but I found myself irritated with her at some point because she cannot understand Billy’s works. As for Billy, even though he seems perfect, I can’t help thinking that he is too perfect and too good to be true and I’m not a fan of that. I like my characters with flaws, but maybe that’s just me. I do find it easy to fall in love with him though, at the beginning of the book, especially when he just first got to know Sophie and they went on their first date. *swooons*

I love the writing in this book, it’s quite fast-paced and I was able to read this in just a day, so if you want a quick read, this is definitely the book for you. I also love how it’s divided into four parts so you can quickly relate to the four different times of Sophie May’s live. With all the behind the scenes showbiz stuff that were included, sometimes it does read like a fanfiction but I had no big issue with that.

I would recommend this to those who love their stories simple but with a little bit of drama. 🙂

My rating:

 3hearts 1/2

Disclaimer: I received the ARC from the publisher, St Martin’s Press via Netgalley in exchange of honest reviews. All opinions are mine.

2 thoughts on “Review: Billy and Me by Giovanna Fletcher

Leave a Reply

