Book Memes · This Week in Books

My Week in Books #7

Final week of the semester! It’s basically study week or reading week, so we have no classes to teach yay!

Anyway, here’s my round-up for this week, a feature hosted by Lipsyy from Lipsyy’s Lost and Found. It’s similar to WWW Wednesday (hosted by Sam @ Taking on a World of Words), so I’m linking to both :)

Then: I managed to read a lot this week so I’m happy with that. Managed to read 5 books, 3 of which were from my April TBR, so it’s definitely a good week.

So anyway, the first book I read was The Second Chance Shoe Shop by Marcie Steele, which I loved and gave 5 hearts. You can read my full review here. I also read Chic Boutique on Baker Street by Rachel Dove, which was set to be released tomorrow on 21st April. I thought it was a good debut novel and I gave it 4 hearts. I’ll discuss and review it at length by this weekend (hopefully!)

I also read Billy and Me by Giovanna Fletcher and gave that 3 1/2 hearts, and also the novella Christmas with Billy and Me, which I gave 4 hearts. Clearly I love the novella more than the full-length novel, probably because of the Christmas theme. I love a good Christmas book! 🙂 As for the novel, I love certain elements of the book but felt that it could have been better. You can read my full review here. Anyway, random fact that I just got to know while reading the book, it seems that Giovanna Fletcher is the wife to Tom Fletcher of McFly. McFly was my childhood!! After reading the book, I went on Youtube and searched for Tom Fletcher’s Wedding speech and I cannot stop going awwwwww that was such a sweet way to deliver your speech using songs from the band. I’ll link it down below if any of you are interested to watch it or if you’re like me and live under a rock and just got to know about this couple haha.. ( and while you’re at it, go watch their baby announcements too, like seriously cute!)

Besides from that, I also read A Home in Sunset Bay by Rebecca Pugh and I loved it! If you have been following me, you would know that I have had the book in my TBR since February but just haven’t had the chance to pick it yet. But recently, Becca announced that her third book, Down on Daffodil Lane, will be coming out soon so I thought this would be the best time to play catch up and actually read the book. I love the book and would definitely recommend it to people who would love to be transported to an idyllic seaside village. You can read my full review of it here.

8-home

Now: I’m currently reading 1 e-book and 1 physical book. The e-book is an eARC of Will You Won’t You Want Me by Nora Zelevansky, which was released yesterday (April 19th), while the physical book is a book that I borrowed, Open House by Jill Mansell. I’m just a few chapters into these books but hopefully they are good and I will enjoy them 🙂

Next: I’m planning to read these two eARCs that I received which was Life Swap by Carol Wyer (expected publication: April 22nd) & The Little French Guesthouse by Helen Pollard (expected publication April 28th). Excited to start these cos I have seen good reviews of them 🙂 (Anyway, have I ever mentioned how much I love Bookouture? They’re probably one of my favourite publishers nowadays! XD)

If I have more time on my hand, I’m planning to read either of these two books: The Sugar Queen by Sarah Addison Allen or Bordeaux Housewives by Daisy Waugh. It’s going to be crazy busy for the next couple of weeks because I will be marking students’ exam papers so I’m going to try to cram as much reading as I can before it gets busier.

What did you read this week? Share in the comments below and I’ll try my best to visit your page. Anyway, have a good reading week ahead 🙂

7 thoughts on “My Week in Books #7

  1. Good luck getting your reading in before exams. I’m in the middle of my last week now and I wish I had more time for reading. Happy reading!

    Like

Leave a Reply

