Reviews

Review: Will You Won’t You Want Me? by Nora Zelevansky

25663568

Published: 19th April 2016

Publisher: St Martin’s Press

Purchase: Amazon

Marjorie Plum never meant to peak in high school. She was Queen Bee. Now, 10 years later, she’s lost her sparkle. At her bleakest moment, she’s surprised by renewed interest from a questionable childhood crush, and the bickering with her cranky boss—at a potentially game-changing new job—grows increasingly like flirtatious banter. Suddenly, she’s faced with a choice between the life she always dreamed of and one she never thought to imagine. With the help of a precocious 11-year-old tutee, who unknowingly becomes the Ghost of Marjorie Past, and a musician roommate, who looks like a pixie and talks like the Dalai Lama, Marjorie struggles with the ultimate question: Who does she want to be? Nora Zelevansky’s Will You Won’t You Want Me? is a funny, often surprising, novel about growing up when you are already supposed to be grown.


My review:

Will You Won’t You Want Me is about Marjorie, who at 28, suddenly found herself unemployed and also roommate-less when her roommate decided to move in her boyfriend. This, as you can imagine, got her feeling low as she felt that she had lost her place in the world. This book somehow surprised me in many ways possible. I was not sure if I would love it based on the writing style in the earlier chapters but once I got past the background story, it got good and it got good real fast. I was hooked to the story, wanting to know what will happen next to Marjorie and the people around her.

I love Marjorie in this book, eventhough at times she annoyed her when she repeated words for three times (sure, sure, sure. fine, fine, fine). It was hard to connect to her at first but as the story progresses along, I grew fond of her and rooted her along the way as she made her life’s decision. I love seeing her grow from someone not so likeable and at times childish to someone who would actually grow up and do something that she actually loves.

This book is not touted as a romance book but I felt that Marjorie’s relationship with Gus is adorable! I definitely love love love Gus (damn Marjorie, you’re rubbing off on me!) and thought that he was the best thing ever in this book. I love how their relationship started and how it grows and ‘ended’. I thought it was nice that eventhough there was a certain misunderstanding between them, they were quick to discuss and talk about it without it getting too long. The final one did drive a wedge between them but even then it was resolved pretty quickly (in terms of pages, I mean)

Another relationship that I love in this book is between Marjorie and Fred, her new roommate. I just love Fred and thought that when the author called her ‘the pixie’, she makes me want to hug Fred and just marvel at her tininess. She definitely makes a better friend than Vera ever did (and gosh, I want to wring Vera’s neck so badly for being such an ungrateful friend!!) I also love the relationship between Marjorie and Belinda, the girl she tutored. She only appeared very sporadically throughout the book and that makes me wish that there are more. I couldn’t help but feel that their part of the story ended way too soon and I can’t help feeling that I was robbed from what could have been more. I do love the part where Marjorie read the story written by Belinda though and I even got tears in my eyes.

This book was a bit hard to get into at first but I assure you to just keep reading. It was funny, uplifting and just overall a very lovely tale of self-discovery, not only of yourself but of people around you and how much they affect you.

My rating:  4hearts

Disclaimer: I received the ARC from St Martin’s Press via the Netgalley in exchange of honest opinion. All opinion are mine.

2 thoughts on “Review: Will You Won’t You Want Me? by Nora Zelevansky

Leave a Reply

