Book Memes · Thirsty Thursday & Hungry Hearts

Thirsty Thursday & Hungry Hearts: The Little French Guesthouse

Thirsty Thursday & Hungry Hearts is a weekly feature/meme over at(un)Conventional Book Views, where we post a little something about food or drinks or meals that were mentioned in the book that we’re reading or have read. This week, I just finished reading The Little French Guesthouse by Helen Pollard and there were several mentions of food throughout the book. Here’s one:

29247496Somehow, we ended up with delicious antipasto – juicy olives, vine-ripened tomatoes, slivers of smoked chicken, vegetable crudités (chopped into perfect matchsticks by me as per Rupert’s instructions) with balsamic vinegar to dip them in – followed by a tasty country casserole. I enjoyed this very much, until Mrs Henderson enquired what the meat was. She might have been used to eating rabbit, but I certainly wasn’t. I paled at the revelation, but since it was too late for the rabbit, and I’d already eaten some, I recovered my poise and finished what was on my plate, declining seconds.

Imagine eating rabbits! I know it’s not as exotic as some other meat are (like frogs, ermmm) but I still couldn’t stomach it. Have you eaten rabbit meat or anything like that?

Leave a Reply

