Reviews

Review: The Little French Guesthouse by Helen Pollard

29247496

Published: April 28th 2016

Publisher: Bookouture

Purchase: Amazon

Sun, croissants and fine wine. Nothing can spoil the perfect holiday. Or can it?

When Emmy Jamieson arrives at La Cour des Roses, a beautiful guesthouse in the French countryside, she can’t wait to spend two weeks relaxing with boyfriend Nathan. Their relationship needs a little TLC and Emmy is certain this holiday will do the trick. But they’ve barely unpacked before he scarpers with Gloria, the guesthouse owner’s cougar wife.

Rupert, the ailing guesthouse owner, is shell-shocked. Feeling somewhat responsible, and rather generous after a bottle (or so) of wine, heartbroken Emmy offers to help. Changing sheets in the gîtes will help keep her mind off her misery.

Thrust into the heart of the local community, Emmy suddenly finds herself surrounded by new friends. And with sizzling hot gardener Ryan and the infuriating (if gorgeous) accountant Alain providing welcome distractions, Nathan is fast becoming a distant memory.

Fresh coffee and croissants for breakfast, feeding the hens in the warm evening light; Emmy starts to feel quite at home. But it would be madness to walk away from her friends, family, and everything she’s ever worked for, to take a chance on a place she fell for on holiday – wouldn’t it?


The Little French Guesthouse started when Emmy found her boyfriend Nathan in bed with someone else and it was even worse when that person is the guesthouse owner’s wife! So what’s a girl to do when her boyfriend left her in an unfamiliar place? Even more so when the guesthouse owner fell sick and was unable to do his day to day work without help? Plagued with a little bit of guilty conscience, Emmy stayed on and help Rupert with work at the guesthouse.

I have to say that I enjoyed this book very very much. I love Emmy from the get go and I feel that her characters made her seem so relatable and you just want to root for her and kick Nathan to the curb. I love how she adapted to life at the guesthouse and her friendship with Rupert seems genuine that you just can’t help but love them together. Sometimes you would feel like Rupert is meddling but you would realize that he only wants the best for Emmy.

The guesthouse itself seems charming and I would love to stay there for a vacation. I love reading all the description of the guesthouse and the surrounding area as it makes me feel as if I was there together with Emmy. Even the small town and the people in the community are lovely, making Emmy (and myself) feel welcomed among them.

As for the love interests, I thought that there was too little of Alain to make me properly fall in love with him compared to Ryan. I love Ryan, although I do feel that their ‘relationship’ is a little too quick but it’s easier to fall in love with him rather than Alain. If only Helen had written a little bit more about Alain, it would have been much better and more perfect!

When I finished reading the last sentence of this book, it made me smile because what Emmy felt was exactly what I felt. I think that Helen Pollard had done a very good job for a debut novel! Can I read the sequel now please, pretty please? 🙂

My rating: 5hearts

Disclaimer: I received the ARC from Bookouture via Netgalley in exchange of honest reviews. All opinions are mine.

4 thoughts on “Review: The Little French Guesthouse by Helen Pollard

  1. It sounds as though the guesthouse was essentially a character in the story as well, Sya. I love the sound of the story with it’s small town setting and wonderful character development. I’ll add this to my wish list. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

