Book Talk · Uncategorized

Bookish Pet Peeves (That Aren’t Mine)

I should probably prefaced this post by saying that this post is probably not for the weak-hearted ๐Ÿ˜›

I’ve seen people discussing about their bookish pet peeves and I kept thinking that sometimes I just don’t mind about what other people consider their pet peeves. Of course, I do realize that it’s a personal thing, which was why I came up with this post to discuss bookish pet peeves that aren’t mine.

Dog-earing pages ย I don’t mind folding pages as I don’t feel like my heart is going to break into a million pieces if I fold pages. I don’t use tabs either cos I felt that’s messy, so yeah, I just prefer folding pages. Of course, I do use bookmarks but there are times when bookmarks are just not readily available, so I fold the page instead. However, I draw the line when it’s books that I borrowed or basically books that aren’t mine.

Cracked Spines ย I try not to crack the spines too much but a little bit of cracks in the spine is totally fine with me. But of course I don’t do this to borrowed books.

Readingย E-books ย ย Some people hate reading e-books but I definitely don’t. In fact, I think without my e-reader, I don’t think I would have read as much as I had read so far.

Different editions ย I don’t mind if my books are in different editions and if they don’t match. That is totally fine with me. Most of my books have different editions from each other and I’m not really too bothered. Case in point: my Harry Potter books. I first started reading the series when I borrowed the second book from a friend (Yes, I’m such a genius, guys!), then I love it so much that during my next trip to the bookstore, I found the U.S edition of the first book and by that time, it was released as a mass market paperback. ย I got the second, third and fourth book in trade paperbacks while the last two books in series were the midnight release hardbacks. Talk about mix and match. ๐Ÿ˜€ It’s not just the Harry Potter books. I’ve gotย other authors’ books in different editions like Cecelia Ahern, Harriet Evans, Jenny Colgan, just to name a few and it does not bother me at all.

Predictable plots ย I’m definitely okay with something predictable because I am a totally a surface reader, I read for enjoyment and not to think too much. Of course I like to think when I read but I don’t like to think about serious stuff when I read. I get my serious thinking done enough in real life. ๐Ÿ˜Ž

Cheesy Romance/Chic Lit Novels – These are my guilty pleasure! Sometimes I just need a pick me up and something simple and easy to read, so these are my go-to books.

Yellowed or Spotty Pages – I’ve heard people say that they hate yellowed pages or spotty pages and that was why they never buy used book but I really don’t get that. Don’t books get aged after a certain period of time? I thought that lends characters to the books so if I want to buy used books and the seller mentioned how the book has yellowed or spotty pages, I’ll be like “That’s fine for me!”

Stacked Booksย – I’ve heard of people not loving the looks of stacked books in their bookshelves and much prefer lining the books vertically but honestly, it doesn’t bother me too much when I have to stack them up. It takes up less space and therefore frees more space on the bookshelves. Win-win for me! ๐Ÿ™‚

Basically those are some of the bookish pet peeves that might bother people but does not bother me. ย What about you?ย ๐Ÿ™‚

11 thoughts on “Bookish Pet Peeves (That Aren’t Mine)

  1. Series have to match for me, I find it so much prettier when it does. My Harry Potter don’t match so I’m trying to find ma favorite edition and I will give the other one away.
    Also, I cannot possibly fold a page without feeling guilty!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes, it is much prettier when they match but I have this idiosyncrasies of spending money for something that I already owned. Having said that, I am totally eyeing for a new HP boxset, the one with the Hogwarts spine. Will buy that when I’m ready to let go of the one I have to my nieces/nephew ๐Ÿ˜€

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I love predictable plots. I love reading for enjoyment and don’t like diving deep into a books ‘why and how’ when I just want to relax and read…most of the time. However, I do hate page folding and spine cracking ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  3. How do you do it ? hahah seriously! I’m talking about the not-matching editions, I applaud you! It would drive me nuts !!!
    And I loved e-readers and also cheesy romances if branded as such, I don’t want to go into a book expecting something else and ending up with cheesiness, because I would probably not be in the mood for it.
    Great post ๐Ÿ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

