Bout of Books 16.0 · Readathon · Reviews

Review: Our Song by Dani Atkins

7-oursongPublished: January 14th 2016

Publisher: Simon & Schuster UK

Purchase: Amazon

This is the story of Ally and Charlotte, whose paths have intersected over the years though they’ve never really been close friends. Charlotte married Ally’s ex and first true love, David. Fate is about to bring them together one last, dramatic time and change their lives forever.

Full of Dani’s signature warmth and emotion, this is a gripping and emotional family drama. With breath-taking plot twists, Dani explores themes of serendipity, friendship and love. She fully engages the reader in the dilemmas faced by her characters. What would you do if your husband was the love of somebody else’s life? And when faced with an agonising decision, could you put the past behind you and do the right thing?


My review:

Our Song tells the story of two couples, where their lives once again intertwined when the husbands David and Joe were rushed to the hospital with their lives in danger. With all the history behind them, the two women have to spend the night at the ICU waiting for the fate of their respective husbands who are fighting for their lives.

My head hurts after I read this book, not because it was bad but because I cried my eyes out, especially towards the end of the story when it was the hardest. Dani Atkins was amazing in her storytelling and excelled in making me have a lot of feelings for her characters. The storylines was solid and realistic that eventhough it technically only happens in a span of 24 hours, the peeks into the past made the story more emotional and gripping.

Eventhough the story jumps from the present to the past quite frequently in order for us to know the story behind their relationship, it was done quite smoothly that I don’t feel confused as to where the story is heading at that moment. I love how through these peeks into the past, that eventhough the two men were not exactly present in the present, you’d still get to know who they are.

The author was really excellent in creating the characters, especially Ally and Charlotte, both of whom I thought are very brave and strong. These women made me cry so much because I just couldn’t imagine being in their shoes but they held themselves together very well. Ally nearly broke me and I feel for her so much. As for Charlotte, eventhough there are times when I’m not her biggest fan, I can’t help but sympathize along with her. I love Joe so much and I love how the author made Ally fell in love with him the way she did. I also love Max, Ally’s bestfriend who prove to be a rock when she needed him the most. I need a Max in my life! Jake, Ally and Joe’s son, really broke my heart at the end, I want to hug him so much 😥

Everything about this book is just perfect and really spoke to me. It was definitely a page-turner for me and eventhough you could probably predict where the story would go about halfway through, it did not fail to make me feel as if the wind had knocked me down. I’m not a weepy person but this made me cry like nobody’s business, so make sure you prepare tissues!

My rating: 5hearts

6 thoughts on “Review: Our Song by Dani Atkins

Leave a Reply

