Reviews · Uncategorized

Review: The Crown by Kiera Cass

the crown

Publication date: May 3rd 2016

Publisher: Harper Teen

Purchase: Amazon

When Eadlyn became the first princess of Illéa to hold her own Selection, she didn’t think she would fall in love with any of her thirty-five suitors. She spent the first few weeks of the competition counting down the days until she could send them all home. But as events at the palace force Eadlyn even further into the spotlight, she realizes that she might not be content remaining alone.

Eadlyn still isn’t sure she’ll find the fairytale ending her parents did twenty years ago. But sometimes the heart has a way of surprising you…and soon Eadlyn must make a choice that feels more impossible—and more important—than she ever imagined.


My Review:

Advanced warning: It’s going to be pretty hard to avoid from being spoiler-y for this kind of book, so consider yourselves warned!

First of all, let me tell you that the only reason I’m reading The Crown is not because I’m 100% interested in the final book in the series but only because I just want to know the ending (well, I hope this is the ending 😉 ). Having said that, I thought that this book did a pretty good job wrapping things up. There were some good parts though (I even found myself teary-eyed wth) but there are also some bad parts.

Let’s talk about the bad parts first. I thought some of the parts were pretty rushed, especially the ending. Don’t get me wrong, I love who Eadlyn ended up choosing but I felt the whole engagement thing was rushed so it was like one moment you were at Point A and in just a matter of seconds you were at Point Z. And I hated that because I want to know the story and not just rush from one point to another. I also hated the way Eadlyn realized that she loves the guy that she ended up choosing, like she just sees him one day and decided that “oh I’ve had feelings for him all these while!” It sucks that we were not shown how she developed that feelings while they were interacting and so on. Well, maybe other people could see the hints of it but I couldn’t so it would have been more perfect had it been more obvious.

Other than that, I also hated the way Maxon acted in this book. Yes, I do realize that the love of his life suffered a heart attack but America ended up okay (she’s not even in the hospital wing for a long time), so why the need to ascend the throne to give way to Eadlyn to become the Queen? She’s just 18, for God’s sake and she herself admitted before that she was not ready for such big responsibilities. She did grow up a lot in this book but come on, descending the throne just because your wife had a heart attack when you’re supposed to be the King and you’re still able to do so, it just screams childish and selfish to me. (And yes, I do realize that they probably need that plot point to move the story along but the author could have done it in other way!) One last thing that I hated was the way Erik’s real name is used towards the end of the book. Why is there a need to do that? Yes, Eikko is his real name but we’ve all known him as Erik and I just wished it had stayed that way until the end.

However, I also have to say that The Crown has some good points. I love how Eadlyn grew up a lot in this book compared to The Heir. In that book, she came off as someone very childish, spoilt and stubborn but in this book, we see Eadlyn as someone who can bear the responsibilities thrown at her and also someone compassionate. To see her grow from someone not accepted by her own people and standing up for their welfare, that’s just very admirable. There weren’t many Selection moments in this book but I love her interaction and easy banter with Kile and Erik.

I’m not going to spoil the ending on who Eadlyn ended up choosing but let me just say that eventhough I was rooting for a different team, I’m still happy with who she ended up with because this guy just makes me fall in love with him more in this book, from the way he acted, spoke and just connected with Eadlyn.

Final thought: The Crown as a book is a good book but it was not without flaws. However, I was surprised that I enjoyed it more than I thought, but it was probably because my expectation was very low. And I thought it would have been better had the author combined The Heir and The Crown together. It would have been nicer to see Eadlyn’s character growth in one book compared to seeing it in two separate books.

My rating: 4hearts

4 thoughts on “Review: The Crown by Kiera Cass

Leave a Reply

