Book Memes · Top Ten Tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday: Books I Feel Differently About After Time Has Passed

Top Ten Tuesday is a meme/feature hosted by The Broke and The Bookish where we talk about certain topic every week and this week’s topic is books that you feel different about after time has passed, be it in terms of less love, more love, complicated feelings, indifference, thought it was great in a genre until you became more well read in that genre etc. I don’t have ten books (more like series, to be honest) but here’s my list in no particular order:

To All the Boys I Loved Before series by Jenny Han – I love Jenny Han and thought that she’s the sweetest, most genuine person ever. But I remembered reading these and devouring them in a span of two days and loved them so much. Well, I loved the first book, To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before, more than the second one and thought that it would have been better had the author stopped at book 1. But now, I’m just not feeling the books anymore and can hardly remember what happened in P.S I Still Love You. There’s going to be a new book in the series soon (due out in Spring 2017) but I’m not even sure if I’m going to pick that one up or not.

Matched series by Ally Condie – I thought the premise of this was great and I loved the first book. Then I read the second book and it was boring the hell out of me but I still powered through for the third book because I wanted to know how it ends. The third book, Reached, was a bit better than the second book but by then it was already too late to get my interest going, so I was reading just for the sake of wanting to know the ending.

Crazy Rich Asian series by Kevin Kwan – I read the first book, Crazy Rich Asians, and thought it was very interesting because all these while I’ve been reading about rich people of the USA, about Manhattan, London, etc but this book is set (mostly) in Asia and with Asian characters, with language that I can somehow relate to and I kind of live vicariously through them with all their jetsetting around the world with private jets, rich family drama, hobnobbing with the royalty and I loved all that. But the second book was just dreary and I realized that there will be a new book out in 2017, but I’m not sure if I’m going to pick that up or not. There’s also going to be a movie adaptation in the works and I am kinda interested to see that, to see how it will be played out on the screen.

Twilight series by Stephenie Meyer – I remembered picking these books up and loving it when I was a teenager but I don’t think I would have loved it as much if I were to read it now.

Shopaholic series by Sophie Kinsella – I loved the first book in the series, then I read the second and the third and it just seems so tiring. Becky just never seems to grow up, even when she got married and have a kid and it’s still the same issue with her. I stopped reading the series and did not even bother picking up the rest of the series. I love Sophie Kinsella and thought that she’s one of the best chic lit writers of all time and I do love her other books but I just cannot bring myself to love the Shopaholics series.

November 9 by Colleen Hoover – I remembered reading this book, finishing it and was just drowning in feels that I really wanted my friend to finish reading it faster just so she can drown in the same feels as I did. But my feelings have changed now and after a quick re-read a couple of months after I first read this, I kept thinking wtf at certain parts of the book. It is still a great book and still a great story, just that my love has lessened a little bit.

november9

Me Before You by Jojo Moyes – Don’t get me wrong, this is such a great book and I still love it to a certain extent butafter some time, I just don’t love it as much as I used to. Having said that, I’m still looking forward to watch the movie in the theater next month. Just have to make sure that I bring boxes of tissues.

me before you

Do you have any of these books in your list? Don’t forget to share with me your list. 🙂

 

 

 

5 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Books I Feel Differently About After Time Has Passed

  1. I agree with you on Matched. I loved the first book but the second one was so boring I abandoned it. I just don’t care about the characters anymore. I also agree with you on To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before. The first book was REALLY awesome. The second one was good too but I didn’t like many things in it.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I haven’t read any of these but I have to admit that is the best cover of “Me Before You” I have seen yet. I don’t tend to get sappy over books (unless a dog dies) so I don’t know if this is a book for me or not. I do admit the movie has me intrigued. Great list!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Great picks! Haha, I read Crazy Rich Asians too and can totally relate with a lot of the things happening in the series. I rated both books 2 stars though – I enjoyed it but it was very… trashy? I’d also like to see it on the big screen.

    Also I’m super glad to see Shopaholic. The first book was OK, the second even, but it’s like SEVEN BOOKS and Becky is still the same as always. It’s annoying. :/

    Like

Leave a Reply

