Reviews

Review: The Little Village Bakery by Tilly Tennant

village bakery

Date of publication: June 15th 2016

Publisher: Bookouture

Purchase: Amazon

Help yourself to a generous slice of Victoria sponge, a perfect cup of tea and a big dollop of romance. Welcome to the Little Village Bakery.

Meet Millie. Heartbreak has forced her to make a new start and when she arrives at the old bakery in the little village of Honeybourne she is determined that this will be her home sweet home. Her imagination has been captured by the tumbledown bakery but with no running water and dust everywhere, her cosy idea of making cakes in a rural idyll quickly crumbles.

Luckily the locals are a friendly bunch and step in to help Millie. One in particular, Dylan, a laid-back lothario, soon captures her attention.

But just as Millie is beginning to settle in, an unexpected visitor from her past suddenly turns up determined to ruin everything for her. It’s time for Millie to face the skeletons in her closet if she’s going to live the dream of running her little village bakery, and her blossoming romance with Dylan.

A charming heartwarming novel about love, life and new beginnings perfect for fans of Milly Johnson and Debbie Johnson.


My Review:

When I first looked at the cover and also the title, I thought there will be an abundance  of baked goods mentioned and I already can’t wait at the thought of salivating while reading about them. I know, pure torture, right? However, 100 pages in and there was no mention of said baked goods and I was disappointed to say the least, especially when the tagline says it’s a feel-good romance with plenty of cakes. I want cakes! Even looking at the cover, you can’t help feeling like you want to eat everything, but unfortunately, there’s no cakes in this book, so I felt the cover and the title is a bit misleading.

However, that very little issue aside, this book is still excellent! I loved reading it as it’s quite fast-paced and there’s a sense of mystery where Millie is concerned, in a way that readers were kept in the dark about her past and we just have to keep guessing what had happened before to make her the way she was. I like how the secrets were revealed but I just wished that some parts of it were not done so abruptly, like what happened to Rowena after that.

This book also has a set of lovely characters that you would expect from a village and they were all very well done and felt relatable. Besides from Millie, we have Jasmine and Rich, a couple with triplets, who are also going through their own set of problems. I like the dynamics between these two that even though they were bickering, you can see the sparks flying. Dylan, who is Jasmine’s brother and also Millie’s romantic interest, is an interesting character and I like seeing how he fell in love with Millie but I wished that there’s more meat to it. There’s also Spencer, the village school teacher that befriended Millie, with a past story of his own. Added to the mix is Ruth, the village gossip, who though I sometimes felt annoyed with (like Millie did), you just can’t help to like her a little bit.

Overall, this is a very charming novel set in a beautiful village. Though there weren’t that much cakes involved, it’s still a very excellent read that keeps you interested until the very end. I can’t wait to read more from this series!

My Rating: 

Disclaimer: I received the ARC from Bookouture via Netgalley in exchange of honest reviews. All opinions are mine. 

Advertisements

One thought on “Review: The Little Village Bakery by Tilly Tennant

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s