Quotable Quotes

Quotable Quotes #6

I love quotes. There are always countless times when I was reading a book, I would bookmark the pages if I’m reading on my e-reader, or take out my phone to capture a pic of it or tabbed it with little post-it stickers if I’m reading a physical book. So I thought I would have a proper post for all my quotes taken from the books that I read last week. So here are some quotes that I found very worthy to share this week, from books that I read last week, which are all by Sarah Addison Allen. The author is a new addition to my favourite authors list and if you love magical realism, you’ll love her books. I definitely did! I rated all of the books that I’ve read by her 5 stars 🙂

lost lakeLost Lake by Sarah Addison Allen

“Magic is what we invent when we want something we think we can’t have.” ~ Bulahdeen

“Misfits need a place to get away too. All that trying to fit in is exhausting.” ~ Kate

“If we measured life in the things that almost happened, we wouldn’t get anywhere.” ~ Eby Pims

“The books I read when I was twenty completely changed when I read them when I was sixty. You know why? Because the endings changed. After you finish a book, the story will goes on in your mind. You can never change the beginning. But you can always change the end.” ~ Bulahdeen

Eby knew all too well that there was a fine line when it came to grief. If you ignore it, it goes away, but then it always comes back when you least expect it. If you let it stay, if you make a place for it in your life, it gets too comfortable and it never leaves. It was best to treat grief like a guest. You acknowledge it, you cater to it, then you send it on it’s way.

“You can’t change where you came from, but you can change where you go from here. Just like a book. If you don’t like the ending, you make up a new one.” ~ Maudie

“I’ve never met a person that I could be quiet with and yet communicate so much. You have no idea what that means to someone like me. Just knowing you were in the world kept me going. And coming here every summer probably saved my life.” ~ Jack

When your cup is empty, you do not mourn what is gone. Because if you do, you will miss the opportunity to fill it again. 


sugar queenThe Sugar Queen
by Sarah Addison Allen

“You’re a reader, hmm?”
“I have a… special relationship with books.”
“Books can be possessive, can’t they? You’re walking around in a bookstore and a certain one will jump out at you, like it had moved there on its own, just to get your attention. Sometimes what’s inside will change your life, but sometimes you don’t even have to read it. Sometimes it’s a comfort to have a book around.”

“I think heaven will be like a first kiss.” ~ Della Lee

Paper, string and glue. Separately, they were just objects waiting for a purpose. Together, they were parts of a whole. Something significant, something solid. They were a lot like relationship that way.

the peach keeperThe Peach Keeper by Sarah Addison Allen

“There was a strange but universal understanding among women. On some level, all women knew, they all understood, the fear of being outnumbered, of being helpless. It throbbed in their chests when they thought about the times they stores and were followed. The knocks on their car windows as they were sitting alone at red lights, and strangers asking for rides. Having too much to drink and losing their ability to be forceful enough to just say no. Smiling at strange men coming on to them, not wanting to hurt their feelings, not wanting to make a scene. All women remembered these things, even if they had never happened to them personally. It was a part of their collective unconscious.”

“We’re connected, as women. It’s like a spiderweb. If one part of that web vibrates, if there’s trouble, we all know it. But most of the time we’re just too scared or selfish or insecure to help. But if we don’t help each other, who will?” ~ Agatha Osgood

“People always say life is too short for regret. But the truth is, it’s too long.” ~ Agatha Osgood

“When you’re a teenager, your friends are your life. When you grow up, friendship seems to get pushed further and further back, until it seems like a luxury, a frivolity, like a bubble bath.” ~ Paxton Osgood

“If you make room in your life, good things will enter.”

“I maced people for you. You’ve got me for life.” ~ Josey Cirrini

 

4 thoughts on “Quotable Quotes #6

Leave a Reply

