Book Memes · Thursday Quotables

Thursday Quotables: Garden Spells

THURSDAY - quotablethursday

Hi guys!!

As you might know from my previous post, I’m currently on a Sarah Addison Allen book binge, reading one of her books after another. I started with The Girl who Chased the Moon, then continued with Garden Spells and currently reading First Frost. I’m really really enjoying the author’s writing style, the storylines, the characters.. like everything is win to me (s0 far, let’s hope I don’t jinx it!!). Needless to say, Sarah Addison Allen is fast becoming one of my favourite authors, so I thought I would post one the quote I found and really loved in Garden Spells.

2599655Basically, Garden Spells is about the Waverly women who have their own kind of magic. They live in a Queen Anne home in Pendland street, where they have a garden at the back of their home. Local legends has it that flowers or plants that came from the Waverly garden has the power to affect people. In this story, we meet with Claire and Sydney, whose mother abandoned them at early age to live with their grandmother, Mary. Sydney is the more free-spirited one, choosing to leave home at the age of eighteen going from one place to another, while trying her hardest to run away from the Waverly legacy. Claire, the older one, is more closed-off and secretive, and she was not willing to let people in so easily and because she’s afraid of people leaving her.

The quote below is an exchange between Claire and Tyler, her love interest (aka her new next door neighbour). When I first read it, I was like “OMG, Tyler! You are totally book boyfriend material!!” Like seriously guys, how can you not fall in love with a guy who says things like this? It’s cute, sweet, and overall just makes me feel things. And it also makes me think that I shouldn’t worry so much about the future, that as long as I live for one day at a time and worries when the time comes, I would definitely lead a better life.

“I should let people in. If they leave, they leave. If I break, I break. It happens to everyone. Right?”

“You think I’m going to leave?”

“There can’t be this forever.”

“Why do you think that?”

“No one I know has ever had this forever.”

“I think of the future all the time. All my life I’ve chased dreams of what could be. For the first time in my life, I’ve actually caught one. I’ll give you one day at a time, Claire. But remember, I’m thousands of days ahead already”

What do you think? 🙂

Linking up at: Bookshelf Fantasies

One thought on “Thursday Quotables: Garden Spells

Leave a comment